DAY 26: HAVE YOU EVER HEARD OF STOCK-TAKING IN WEIGHTLOSS PROGRAMME

 

MEANING OF STOCK-TAKING IN WEIGHT-LOSS

It is a special activity, which you do to help you complete the first part of the weight-loss programme and continue to your second part and so on. The first part is the first four weeks (which is the 1st Month of the weight-loss programme), while the second part is the next four weeks (which is the 2nd month), and so on. You must do your stock-taking on the last day of the 3rd week  of each month before going into its 4th week. Therefore, you want to know the following:

  1. What has been your input in terms of energy spent doing your exercises?
  2. What have been other investments in your exercises in terms of time, money, social life, etc?
  3. How do you rate your performance and input?
  4. Which way from now?

 

HUMAN ENERGY AND OTHER INVESTMENTS

It is important to know how much energy you have invested in your exercises. If you feel like dropping-out of your own weight-loss programme, and you have already done so much in first three weeks, it is possible to continue to the next round of exercises in the following month. Yet, if you have done very little, it is possible to drop-out when you lose  interest along the way. The first thing that keeps you going with this programme is the amount of energy you invest in it. Note that, it is not the money, which keeps you going because this is a very cost-effective programme. You spend very little money to do the exercises. It is your input in terms of energy that keeps you going to the next level.

HOW DO YOU CHECK INPUT IN TERMS OF ENERGY AND OTHER INVESTMENTS?

Record Keeping, and Self Assessment

If you recall, I recommended that you keep a record, preferably a hard copy of your daily exercises and other related activities. I argued earlier against using a computer to keep records because it breaks the speed needed to do exercises without breaking the heart beat,  and it reduces the joy of doing exercises. If you want to keep your data in a soft copy, then you can do it at a later stage. It is important for you to keep your own records even when your helper is present. You need to be in charge and to stay in touch with any tiny detail in your  data. This is necessary for you to follow closely on your developed and to shape the direction of your weight-loss destiny. If you ask someone else to enter the data from your hard copy into your computer, it is possible for that person to enter the data incorrectly because he/she might not understand some of your shorthand. Trust me! You try as much as possible to summarise your data so that you focus on exercising. Yet, the choice is yours whether you want to enter the data at all, or you want to do it personally or someone else has to do it for you. I do not know how you would feel at the end of the week or month to discover that you have no record of what you did, and so you cannot tell clearly your input! That is why; I recomment you deal with your data in the simply way you can.

Another important thing to remember is what I said earlier that you MUST set your own goals and assess your performance based on your goals. If you try to jump after another person, it is possible that you might under jump or over jump, and drop-out.

WHAT DO YOU KEEP ON THESE RECORDS AND HOW DO YOU MEASURE YOUR PERFORMANCE?

1. Keep a record on your INITIAL weight—that is the body weight at the start of the weight loss programme. This measurement is not done using a scale, but using a measuring tape. If you remember, I said earlier that you need to measure your chest, bust, waist in three areas, buttocks, hips, and knees. You need also to know exactly where you took the measurements on your body. Thus, keeping photos with measures helps. For example, I have a few spots on my body, which makes it easy to remember the exact areas, where I take the initial measurements. Keeping the record on your initial weight is important because you would need it to calculate your weight loss in the 4th week.

 E.g. A record of my Initial weight

 

@chipo muponisi

My initial weight in inches

 

2. Keep a record on your PROPOSED daily activities—You need to make a list of activities, which you want to be doing daily during your weight-loss programme. It might be a continuation of your usual activities before your weight-loss programme, or it might be new activities, or a mixture of old and new ones. It is important to make this list because your weight-loss programme MUST FIT into your daily activity routine. If you recall my earlier recommendation, I argued that your weight loss programme must not feel like an extra activity. Otherwise, it feels like a burden. I suggested that you INJECT your weight-loss programme within your weekly activities and leave the weekends clean so that your body treats exercises as part of your work schedule. The daily activities list helps you check whether you are balancing your life now that you have began exercising. In other words, your weight-loss programme must not disturb other equally important activities if you want to continue with your programme. Going back to the list helps you reshuffle activities, and enjoy your life.

E.g. A record of my proposed-daily activities

@chipo muponisi june

I fit my exercises into my daily routine

 

 3. Keep a record on body stretches and warm ups, and Jumps—This is the MOST important record of them all because it shows the actual energy you invest into your exercises on a daily, weekly, fortnightly, monthly and quarterly basis. It is core also because it shows the total number of jumps, which you do per day, per week, month, and so on. It shows also the types of exercises you do to stretch your body and to warm up. It indicates also the total time spent on body stretches and warm ups, and jumping. In terms of body stretches, it helps to adjust exercises when the body  aches. In terms of jumping, it helps to calculate the jumps and time spent exercising, which helps you see you energy investment. You can also make general comments on your performance daily.

 E.g. A record of my daily body stretches and warm ups, and jumps

 

@Chipo Muponisi

Week 1: body stretches-warm ups, and jumps

@Chipo muponisi

week 2: Body stretches-warmups, and jumps

@ChipoMuponisi

Week 3: Body stretches-warm ups, and jumps

 

@chipo muponisi

Week 3 and half: Body stretches-warm ups, and jumps

 

4. A record on OTHER investments—It is important to know how you are spending your energy or little money on activities related to your exercises. For instance, it is important to know how much effort you spend making your fruit and vegetable drink for your exercises, and the tea from ginger, honey, onion, garlic, and green tea. These might seem irrelevant, but you might be the person doing the actual preparations, or you might be required to clean up after using the kitchen utensils. All, you might be required to clean before and/or after exercising from a specific area in your house. In terms of cost, it is important to check how much you are investing in your exercise monetary. Although I have designed this weight-loss programme to be cost-effective, that word is relative meaning different things to different people in different areas. If you are living on a farm that grows oranges throughout the year, or any other usable fruit, it might be cost-effective. Or if you are working, and your salary is okay, it might be cost-effective. Yet, it might not be cheap comparing it within oneself depending on circumstances. Otherwise, it is a lot cheaper than several other programmes that need monetary and material resources. Besides, a record on other investments helps you go beyond exercises to nature and treat yourself positively. If you can afford, you might want to invest in things that help you discover yourself more and support both your inner and outer image, which is also a great way of focusing on yourself because often people spend time focusing on work, school, family, etc.

 E.g A record on my other investments, which are a must

A) Fresh Oranges are a must, in their absence use lemons

@Chipo muponisi

oranges, apples, tomatoes, vegetable, pepper 

 

B) Foam baths to relax my body at least 3 times per week during exercises

 

@chipo muponisi

My foam bath during the 1st month of weight-loss

 

C) Lemon grass oil to burn essence at least once or twice per week

 

@chipo muponisi

I love the smell of essence in my flat, and I make sure that during the weight-loss it is always there for relaxing, or while watching a great movie with friends

 

MY INPUT TODAY: I’M EXTREMELY EXCITED 

Friday is often a short day for me because I have to prepare for worship after school. Normally, I only jump and body stretch in the mornings on Friday, but I make sure that I do the exercises, which cover input for both the morning and evening. This morning, I did 1, 500 jumps in about 24 minutes (09:53-10:16 hours). Then, after adding my weekly performance, I noticed that I was lacking only 150 jumps to break a huge record for me. Therefore, I became excited and did 350 extra jumps in 4 minutes instead of 150 jumps.

Therefore, for the first time in my history of the jumping exercises, I did a total of 8, 200 jumps per week (Mon 2000 in 38mins, Tue 1,500 in 29 minutes, Wed 1,650 32 minutes, Thurs 1, 200 in about 23 minutes, Fri 1,850 in 28 minutes, the weather was great today). I stretched my body and warmed up each day before jumping in a total of 53 minutes (15, 10, 10, 08, &10) and I spent and around 2 hours 25 minutes to do the total jumps, which is a grand total of 3 hours 18 minutes this week, which was really great.

This was a tremendous week. I improved on jumping greatly. I was really excited and I am still excited, and I am looking forward to next week so that we can measure and see if at all I have lost some weight.

MY OVERALL PERFORMANCE IN THE PAST 3 AND HALF WEEKS

(I HAPPY BECAUSE I KNOW THAT I DID NOT WASTE MY TIME, AND THAT I DID MY BEST, AND I TESTED MY HIGHEST POTENTIAL )

Week 1, I did 5, 929 (I have to check again because I did more). I was very excited to start the programme

Week 2, I did 5, 808. I was still excited with exercises, but I did not do well that week Friday

Week 3, I did 5000. I was still excited although the workshop interfered with my exercises

Week 3 and half (Since I started on May 27), I did 8, 200. It is the best week for me.

I have done a total of 24, 937, which 3 hours on average per week. I have not yet entered the data on excel for the actual calculation…I just feel great

Above all, I am grateful to God for good health, shelter, food, etc, which contributed to my great performance so far. Next week, we shall look forward to the output so that we can check how much weight I have lost.

My Wish

I wish to have a watch, which counts both the jumps and time spent. I have looked in the shops for such a stop watch, but I cannot find one yet.

 

@chipo muponisi

I am searching for a stop watch, which can count JUMPS and record time per jump

 @ Chipo Muponisi, unedited post

One comment on “DAY 26: HAVE YOU EVER HEARD OF STOCK-TAKING IN WEIGHTLOSS PROGRAMME

  1. I Am Going To have to visit again when my course load lets up – nonetheless I am getting your Feed so i can read your web blog offline. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

