DAY 41: IT FELT LIKE SITOPHOBIA IN WEIGHT-LOSS

 

 

IT FELT LIKE SITOPHOBIA FOR A WHILE

The following day, while I was still excited about having done 10100 jumps in a single week, a family invited me over to their home, since we had not seen each other in a long time. It was shortly after 12:00 hours. As you know, most people of African descent welcome friends and visitors to a variety of food. The table had all sorts of amazing food mixtures. Everything happened so fast, before I knew it, my friends’ brother served me  some rice, crispy chicken, vegetables, sauce, etc. Normally, this family holds a buffet lunch, where we all choose what we wanna eat. The moment I looked at that plate full of food, I developed suddenly a temporal SITOPHOBIA–the fear of food and eating food. I must admit that the food looked extremely delicious. Yet, within a split of seconds, after remembering the amount of energy I have so far invested into my weight-loss programme, I declined politely to eat the food because it was very rich in calories especially the rice and chicken with its crispy skin fried in tomato and onion sauce. Later, I accepted the food and ate at least part of it.

I know now that sitophobia is not far from us during our weight loss programme. There was no need for me to fear eating that food in the first place. I know the amount of calories in an average chicken drumstick with its skin. I could have simply balanced the rest of my meals in the evening. There was no need to have experienced the food-panic attack, but I did. Next time, I would handle the situation better. Perhaps, the best is eating out in a neutral place like a restaurant. I often prefer eating out because I choose what I want to eat and how I want to eat it. I think that during the weight loss programme, it is not wise to visit friends we value during lunch hour. It is best to visit them after that hour or meet each other at a restaurant, since in our African cultures it is impolite to refuse or eat little of the food.  To balance my weight loss programme, I did 200 jumps later in the evening that day to cut down some of those calories.

 

HAIR AND FACIAL CARE

I promised last Friday that I was gonna do something special for me. After having jumped 10,100 counts last week, I decided to treat myself on Friday. I went to a salon. I had my hair washed, scalp treated, and a weave fixed. Trust me! I am not fond of wigs, but it felt good to just enjoy a new me for a while. I also had my face cleaned and eyebrows trimmed. It was great!

 

TURKEY SLICES THIS WEEK

I have continued enjoying changes. I decided to change from chicken back to turkey slices. I enjoy roasting and smoking my turkey. This evening, I roasted a turkey slice, and eat it with a thick-millet porridge and cabbage. It was a simple meal, but It was great!

 

Today, 

I decided to jump a bit more than last week monday. I  did a total of 2, 500 jumps in 53 minutes (2000 jumps in the morning for 40 minutes from 08:57 to 09:37 and 500 jumps in the evening for 13 minutes from 17:04 to 17:16 hours). I did my body stretches for 35 minutes from 08:20 to 08:55. I spent a total of 1 hour 28 minutes exercises today. I drank 1 litre of water, but I added buffered ascorbic acid to the water because I ran out of oranges and other fruits. I also drank 900 ml of masala-green tea. 2 cups of water (600 ml). I drank a total of 2.5 litres of fluids.

 

@ Chipo Muponisi, unedited post

Leave a Reply

