Weight-loss/Maintenance is an Investment

 

DAY 10 for my Weight loss program:

Most often, when we think about the word investment, we associate it with a business, shares, etc. Little do we think of weight loss or maintenance as investment. Yet, we invest a lot in our exercises and other activities like eating the right food, which is meant to lose or maintain weight. Thus, we need to invest in our weight loss or maintenance to reach our target. Invest does not end at reaching the target because we do not want to relapse into overweight again.

I convinced myself to invest time, energy, and resources in my food to ensure that I eat only the food, which is right for my body to either lose weight or maintain it.  First, I cook my food from Monday to Friday, but weekends I often eat out.   This means that I INVEST time in cooking the food, where I have control over the quantities of ingredients, which go into my food. It is common knowledge that too much salt, milk, oil mostly animal fats, bicarbonate soda, soft drinks, etc are not ideal when one wants to lose or maintain weight. Therefore, instead of going out to the restaurant or calling for home delivery, I prepare my food well.

Thus, preparing food is a serious investment, since we spend time, energy and the right resources to cook. For instance, today, I prepared a home-made bread. It takes time to knead the bread, watch the dough rise, and bake it. It costs a bit of money to buy the right kind of flour (Wheat-brown-bread flour) because you are concerned about your weight and health in general. Once you know what it takes to have the right body and health, you would be willing to eat right, and you would not allow someone else a the restaurant to serve you with the food, which you would not otherwise treat your self to. With practice, you would learn to prepare meals quickly and with ease.

For my supper today, I made the following as a way of investing time, energy and resources in my weight loss program:

1. Sweet-Salty-Sourly Bread: I made a traditional bread. It requires about 1 hour to prepare.I put 2 tablespoons of instant yeast in a bowl, added 1 tablespoon of sugar, 1 tsp of salt, 1 tsp of fresh-crushed ginger, and added 1 mug of very warm water, but not hot water because it kills the yeast and the bread would not rise. Then, I added 1 mug of wheat-brown-bread flour, and blended the ingredients with a mixer. I placed a lid on the bowl, and placed it near a warm oven, and let it rise with bubbles on top. After 10-15 minutes, I added 2 cups of wheat-brown-bread flour (I did not use the coarse flour with much grains in it, the medium one works wonders), and I mixed it well, and kneaded it well. After the dough was ready, I allowed it to rise three times before baking it. This means that after the dough rises to almost double its original size, you must knead it again, level it, and let it rise a second time to double or more than its original size. Then, knead it again and let it rise for the third time. This creates a sourly taste because the dough ferments a bit as it rises three times. It is the same taste you get if you add Greek yogurt to the dough.

Then, you bake it in a special way at 100 degree Celsius, but you must put a wet cloth on top of the dough to allow it bake under steam so that it becomes hefty, but also soft and sourly. You need to keep wetting your piece of cloth every five minutes. NB: Reduce the heat if it burns the cloth is less than five minutes.

This bread is so tasty that you can eat a lot of it without knowing. Therefore, to avoid over eating, I design my bread into five parts (See in the 1st picture below), where I plan to eat at least one part per day, since it is a very hefty bread. Although the pieces of bread are  thin (See 2nd picture below), they are quite hefty. one piece is enough for supper, but lunch two can do.

2. Marinated-Grilled Chicken: The third pictures shows a piece of chicken. Marinate your chicken in 1/4 tsp of white pepper, 1/2 tsp of garlic, 1/2  tsp of  ginger, and 1/4 of salt after removing the animal fats. Then, pour 1/4 tsp of vegetable oil and rub in. Then, you bake it at 120 degree celsius. Make sure that it is crispy on the outside and tender on the inside.
3. Steamed cabbage: Chop white cabbage, fresh hot chili, white onion, and tomato. Heat oil in a sauce pan, add onion and fry it for about 2 minute. Then, add cabbage, salt, chili and tomato to the frying onion. Put a lid on and steam it for about 3 minutes. It tastes real good.

4. Rooibos: This is idea tea for the evening. 0 % calories, and great oxidation.

Arguably, you need to value yourself to eat the right food.

Lines demarcate the bread in 5 parts

This piece is hefty despite being thin
@ chipo muponisi

white cabbage

2 slices of bread, a piece of chicken, & rooibos tea

5 comments on “Weight-loss/Maintenance is an Investment

  1. I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one today.

    • Thank u, but it is not a paid blog. I write simply about what I love (Writing my Faith in God), and other related topics like writing about health issues from the exercise point of view, food, art, etc

  2. I agree with your way of looking at health as an investment because you need to take time, and a whole load of effort and discipline, to live a healthy and active lifestyle:))

    • It is true my friend. We find often time to invest other things, but neglect our health–mostly the weight component. The only time that we want to focus on health, is when the doctor tells us that our life is at risk. Yet, health–exercises–must be inculcated early in our childhood so that we take it with us as we grow up. Apparently, we are very active as children. Yet, as we grow up, we become reluctant to play-physical games. Fast cars replace cycling, etc. Off course, the effects are huge and costly…In the end, our other investments are also affected as we spend time trying to rectify health. Let’s continue helping others to see the value of investing in health through active life-styles like exercises, etc

Leave a Reply

