Home Cooked Beans

 

Home cooked beans Vs. Bought baked beans

If you like beans, I would recommend that you eat home-cooked beans as opposed to baked-beans bought from a supermarket unless you are very busy. Baked-beans has too much sugar. It has also chemicals to preserve it. The talk about food preservatives is very debatable. Most manufacturers argue that the preservatives are health-friendly. Yet, I am interested in the amount of sugar in baked-beans. This sugar is equivalent to eating enough candy. Thus, if you are avoiding eating candy to control your weight, just know that you are still eating candy in its different form through baked-beans. We need to eat the right amounts of beans. We need it for its taste and for its nutritious effect on our bodies.

Beans contributes to both weight-loss and gain

I like eating beans. It tastes really great. It is also rich in proteins, fibre, etc. It is a good source of weightloss. The proteins build torn muscles, whilst fibre provide roughage. These activities are core to weight-loss.

However, I am quick to say that beans  contributes also to weight gain when eaten in large quantities over time because it has carbohydrates too. Remember what I said earlier in another article! I said that a cup of beans has around 250 calories. Beans taste great with other carbohydrates like baked-Irish potatoes, bread, etc. I like, for example, eating beans for breakfast. I would smear salted butter on my 2 slices of bread, put a layer of beans, add fried eggs with drippy yolks, add sliced tomato and onion, sprinkle cheese-salt on it and drink lots of hot tea. This breakfast meal is already about 517 calories. Yet, the average calories intake per meal (which is also debatable) is 400 calories. This means that if you want to eat beans, you must eat it once or twice per week. You must also balance your total in take of calories per day. Or, you simply do more exercises to burn extra calories. This might sound alarming, but it is not. All you need is knowing the total amount of calories your body requires each day according to your weight, height, age, and activities. You need also to know how much calories are in each food, which you eat. The idea is for you to calculate quickly how much you eat per meal so that you are not afraid of certain meals without knowing your actual food in take per day. Knowledge is power. I eat beans and I manage my weight properly without stress.

Beans causing flatulence gas

Some people like beans. Yet, they avoid beans because of the flatulence gas. Too much fibre, which is not absorbed, leads to flatulence gas. The body passes this gas through the rectum by popping the sound, and through the mouth by belching. Beans is not the only food that causes flatulence gas.

Home remedy for flatulence gas

The good news is that it is easy to treat flatulence gas at home. Drink 1 tablespoon of charcoal power or charcoal tablets according to prescription after eating beans. If you are on other medication, do not drink charcoal! It would absorb those medicines, which would make them futile.

Another method involves preventing flatulence gas when cooking beans. Thus, cook the beans for 30 minutes only, and soak it in water over night. The following day, pour out the water in which you had soaked the beans, and add fresh water to cook for at least 2 hours. This reduces flatulence gas.

Flatulence gas might be a social embarrassment

Some people do not want to eat beans for fear of social embarrassment. The gas might cause so much audible noise, while passing through the rectum. It depends, where and with whom, that happens. If it happens at home with familiar people, that might be okay. Yet, if it happens when one is presenting a paper in public with the media present, that might spell doom for someone’s career. It is strange that people do not take lightly passing the gas through the rectum in public. Nonetheless, on average a person passes about 2-3 pints of gas per day (Research on the actual quantities). It is worse when the flatulence gas has an awful odour. The person sitting next to one passing gas might be extremely offended by unspoken odours. Yet, it is nice to be a comedian. The public does not get angry with a comedian, who passes gas noisily through the rectum. In some societies, men are applauded for passing gas through the rectum. Yet, women are reprimanded for the same act. However, it is easy to prevent this social embarrassment. Simply apply the remedy above!

HOW TO COOK BEANS AT HOME

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of beans
  • Enough water
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 small tomato
  • fresh leaves of coriander
  • 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil (preferably sunflower oil because it is odourless)

Method:

  1. Wash the beans

    @chipo muponisi

    soaked beans over night

  2. Boil the beans for 30 minutes
  3. Soak the beans over night, make sure that the water covers the entire beans
  4. Pour the soaking water on the following day, and add fresh water to the beans
  5. Cook the beans until it is very soft (the soaked beans would cook for 2 hours on average without a pressure cooker)
  6. Chop the onion and tomato, and fry them into hot oil until tender
  7. Add the fried onion-tomato, salt, and black pepper to the boiled beans. Cook for at least 3 minutes
  8. Add chopped coriander and simmer for at least 2 minutes

Voila! The beans are ready to serve two people or one person for two days

@ chipo muponisi

home cooked beans

@ Chipo Muponisi, unedited post.

4 comments on “Home Cooked Beans

  1. Dear Chipo,

    I want to thank you for all the help you gave me during my weight loss. Actually I can’t believe that I lost 25 kilograms in 6 months. When you told me that it was possible to lose weight, I did not believe you. I was 75 kilograms. Then, when I saw you lose weight, I thought that I can also do it. I can’t imagine how changing the type of food I eat changed my life. I am so so so grateful to you Chipo. I wish I lived next to you. I would take you out so that we can celebrate together. I hope that people take your weight loss program seriously. My next step now, I want to find new clothes. If I had a choice, I was going to change my husband too (Joke). He looks far much older than me now that I have lost weight. I am encouraging him to read your blog. Your lessons are so simple, but they work fast. May God bless you young girl. You are truly an angel. It is hard to find people, who share their knowledge freely. everyone is selling knowledge and here you are, just giving out free to anyone, who wants it. I’m sure that you would receive more blessings. I told my friends at the office they want to know you.

    I want to know if it is possible to cook beans in a very short time not 1 or 2 hours.

    Lol,
    Kascoolu

    • Dear Kas,
      First things first: I am very happy for you. It is amazing to see how much weight you lost. I glance over the initial weight, which you sent me in June. 25kg is a lot of weight to lose. I am very happy for you. Yet, I would like to share your pictures with others, but unless you authorise me. Otherwise, great job! Keep it up! I will send you some basic steps to maintain your weight. Let me know if you want! I am really impressed…

      About the beans: Yes, there are fast ways of cooking it. The first one, as I said earlier, involves using a pressure cooker. The second one involves using bicarbonate soda, but bicarbonate soda destroys the nutrients. It cooks beans in half the amount of time, but I would not recommend it.

      Stay blessed,
      Chipo

      • Hi Chipo!
        Please do not put the first picture on the website. I was just too fat. Put the picture I sent you yesterday. I love the way I look now. And I love you for that. I still can’t believe.

        Kas

      • Dear Kas,
        I hear you. I would never post any picture against your wish.

        I would like to post your current picture, but it is not going to have any impact because it will not have a picture to compare it with. I think that bloggers would like to see the exact change by comparing the old picture with the new one. let me know what you think…

        Cheers,
        Chipo

Leave a Reply

